British Football Legends 1996

In 1996 Royal Mail issued a Football Legends set to commemorate the Euro 96 European Football Championships. This was the first football set issued since the iconic World Cup stamps of 1966. As is the case a set of PHQ Stamp Cards was also issued alongside the stamps. Designed by Howard Brown each card features a bona fide British football legend.

Royal Mail - Stamps, Collectibles and Gifts

Dixie Dean - 14/05/96 - PHQ179a

Bobby Moore - 14/05/96 - PHQ179b

Duncan Edwards - 14/05/96 - PHQ179c

Billy Wright - 14/05/96 - PHQ179d

Danny Blanchflower - 14/05/96 - PHQ179e


1970 Mexico World Cup - Liberia

Liberia issued a nice 4-v set for the 1970 World Cup held in Mexico. Unsurprisingly Aztec inspired designs feature just like they did for stamps issued by other countries and of course they've all got that certain seventies feel to them especially the 35c value with it's jaunty sombrero.

The set was issued on 10th June 1970 a day which saw a number of group games being played. These being the USSR beating El Salvador 2-0, Uruguay losing 1-0 to Sweden, Brazil beating Romania 3-2 and West Germany recording a 3-1 win over Peru.

Liberia - 1970 World Cup
Liberia - 1970 World Cup issued 10/06/70. Offset Lithography

Liberia 1970 World Cup
Liberia - 1970 World Cup issued 10/06/70. Offset Lithography

Liberia 1970 World Cup
Liberia - 1970 World Cup issued 10/06/70. Offset Lithography

Liberia 1970 World Cup
Liberia - 1970 World Cup issued 10/06/70. Offset Lithography


Seven Gloriously Green Soccer Stamps

The modern English word green comes from the Middle English and Anglo-Saxon word grene, from the same Germanic root as the words "grass" and "grow". Many football clubs play in green and there's this great flickr group for supporters of green football teams with lots of great green football imagery.

Not surprisingly green features as a dominant colour in stamp design so I've had a quick look through my collection to bring you seven of the best all-green football stamps I can find. Here they are in no particular order. My two personal favourites are the Sudanese and Finnish stamps. Which do you like?.

Sudan 1960 Olympics Games. Issued 25/08/60. Offset Lithography

Italy 1934 World Cup. Issued 24/05/34. Photogravure

Albania 1959 National Spartakiad. Issued 20/11/59. Offset Lithography

Finland 1952 Olympics. Issued 15/02/52. Photogravure

Luxembourg 1968 Olympics. Issued 22/02/68. Photogravure

Soviet Union 1949 Sport in the USSR. Issued 07/08/49. Photogravure

Costa Rica 1946 CCCF Championship. Issued 13/05/46. Intaglio

Digitally Restored


Fabulous Football Stamps from Czechoslovakia

A few days back I posted up a couple of fabulous Czechoslovakian World Cup stamps. Well today we are back to 'czech-out' (sorry) more great football stamps issued by the former communist state.

We'll start with this beauty. One of six stamps issued for the 1964 Tokyo Olympics. This is a true work of art as are the rest of the stamps in the set. I can gaze lovingly at this and it's five companions for hours.Simply stunning and captivating.

Czechoslovakia 1964 Tokyo Olympics. Issued 02/09/64. Intaglio

Another magnificent stamp. I love how the movement has been captured by the engraver. This stamp commemorates the 60th anniversary of football in Czechoslovakia and is one of a 7-value sporting events set. All as splendid and spellbinding as each other.

Czechoslovakia 1961 Sporting Events. Issued 10/02/61. Intaglio

This was the first ever football stamp issued by Czechoslovakia and it certainly set the bar. Part of a 4-value set issued to mark the 9th Sokol Congress. Sokol was a mass sports and physical culture movement that predated the communist state but which was appropriated by the state for propaganda purposes. The inscription on this stamps translates as - Sokol belongs to the Workers. Oh yeah, Freedom for Tooting!

Czechoslovakia 1951 Sokol Congress. Issued 21/06/51. Intaglio.


The Swiss Football Stamp with a Serendipitous Solothurn Postmark

This stamp featured in my previous post where I shared with you twelve socked on the nose football stamps and because of it's postmark is worthy of more attention. There's link between this stamp and the place where it was postmarked and that that link is the number eleven. Football is of course a game of 11 v 11 whilst the Swiss City of Solothurn has an affinity with the number eleven. So perhaps a Swiss football stamp with a Solothurn postmark is philatelic serendipity in action.

Switzerland 1970 75th Anniversary of the Swiss FA. Issued 17/09/1970. Photogravure

Solothurn is the capital of it's eponymously named canton and it has an almost holy relationship with the number eleven. The canton of Solothurn was the eleventh to join the Swiss Federation and within the city itself there are eleven churches, eleven towers, eleven historical fountains and a clock that only shows eleven hours. Solothurn Cathedral took eleven years to build, it's facade is eleven metres high as is it's tower. It has eleven altars, eleven bells and it's exterior staircase has levels consisting of eleven steps each.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...